I Recommend the New Book _Scrum Shortcuts…_ by Ilan Goldstein


I came upon Ilan’s new book, Scrum Shortcuts Without Cutting Corners,  by seeing his great blog posts first, then I actually offered to review his book.  What he didn’t know, is that on the rare occasion I take the time to review a book (unpaid), I usually look at the first couple of chapters they give me to review before deciding whether I’ll actually follow up and review more of it or not.  Ilan’s book was great, so I offered to do some more reviewing for him before he published it.

There are some recent books out on the Scrum Master role, and I don’t care for a lot of them.  Ilan’s book is one I wholeheartedly endorse.  It’s short, it’s easily digestable, and packed with practical advice.  Like he says in the book, it’s not a prescription — it’s simply a list of possible strategies to play Scrum with.

Ilan’s book is in the Mike Cohn series, and even though I’m certified as a trainer through a different organization (and don’t always agree with anything 100% these days), I really like the Mike Cohn series a lot.  It’s a quality series of books, among a larger field of books that I mostly don’t recommend.

I’m gladly adding Ilan’s book to my list of favorite Scrum and Agile resources.  I recommend you pick up a copy and do the same!

(I receive no financial benefit for writing this review)

May the Sprint be with you… and… Scrum On!

One Response

  1. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll add this to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

