Lee Henson is the Brad Pitt of Scrum Trainers


@AgileDad, Lee Henson, is the Brad Pitt of Scrum Trainers

You know the guy. He’s engaging, he’s deep, and when he talks to you — you feel like you’re the only one in the room. You feel like he “gets you.” Some have accused a certain former President of having this ability. You know this guy. He’s the one that every girl wants to “be” with, and the one that every guy wants to hang out and have a few beers with. I know that you know that guy. Everyone has someone in their life like that. You have your very own “Brad Pitt” in your life– I know that you do.

This is how I feel about Lee Henson’s ability to do Scrum training and presentations. I’ve had the great pleasure of attending some of his presentations over the years at the Mile High Agile conference here in Denver. I’m going to keep this short and sweet. Here’s what makes Lee different from most other Certified Scrum Trainers(CST’s) and presenters I’ve seen.

  • First and foremost, the guy knows Scrum inside and out, and is a big contributor to the Scrum community. This doesn’t really make Lee different from most CST’s, but it’s worth mentioning so you know that Lee has a good foundation and the most important trait that any CST should have: knowledge.
  • Second, his sessions are funny. Yep, that’s right, I said FUNNY! Like ROFLMAO funny at times. It kind of reminds me of people’s notion of “Comedy Defensive Driving.” If you’re going to have to attend training, it might as well be fun(and funny!), right?
  • Third, the comedy is *about* software and Agile, and directly relates to what he’s trying to convey — it’s not some off topic “knock knock” joke. Further, the comedy is something that every software professional can relate to. Trust me on this. Lee will have you rolling in the aisles with his description of Big Bang releases or his story of gently heckling a Kanban panel at a software conference.

I know what you’re thinking. Brad Pitt? Really?

Everything I said above is my true opinion of Lee, but let’s face it, I’ve already set your expectations high enough(maybe too high, but I doubt it), so let me throw a caveat in. I did not say, but you might have inferred, something about Lee’s looks because I mentioned Brad Pitt and Lee Henson in the same sentence. Lee’s a nice looking guy, but don’t contact him if you want a CST to show you some rock hard abs and model jockey underwear for you. Let’s face it, nobody on the planet looks like my boy Brad Pitt.

So, if you’re looking for a CST that will knock your socks off, this is the guy. You can contact him via his AgileDad web site.

Disclaimer: This might be the biggest suck up in Agile history, so you may be wondering if I have a financial interest in promoting Lee’s services. I have never accepted money for referring good people to other good people, nor do I plan to. Those of you that know me know that I have a very high standard when it comes to people earning my admiration, Agile or otherwise. I am much more interested in people and relationships, and in giving the best advice I possibly can, than some referral fee or commission.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 287 other followers

